Apologies if this has been covered before, but a search did not yield any results for me.
On Meteor, the player plunged and the ball made it all the way down to the left outlane area without activating any switches. At this point, the player tried to save the ball, but caused the game to tilt. Despite the tilt, the game served that player another ball (his score read 0 so he definitely did not trigger any PF switches).
Is this expected behavior?
What is the correct ruling? Player is allowed to play the ball again or must plunge it and walk away?
So Meteor is an old Stern that has a software feature that prevents loss of ball on a tilt through. In this case, though no switches were passed over, the player made an attempt to save their ball. As far as I’m concerned this means they have played their turn, hit a 10 point switch and drain the ball. Otherwise that’s intentional tilting to gain benefit and I’m sure there’s something about that in the ifpa rules.
The only way of knowing if the player intentionally tilted is to ask. They could have simply been trying to save their ball from going down the outlane (which they should be trying to do with little risk to any sort of big end of ball bonus). TD should ask the player if they intentionally tilted the ball to ensure themselves from validating the playfield.
If the player says “No”, then it’s play on.
If the player says “Yes”, then it’s a DQ from the game and issue either a yellow or red card for player conduct.
Another reason for the “no intentional tilt” rule involves sandbagging as well. I realize that like the other discussion going on about balls stuck during multiball, this involves player intent and is easy to game, but I think its important to acknowledge in the rules that this is our intent for how matches should play out.