Post Pinburgh reaction thread - how'd you do, how happy are you with it, etc?

Figured now that some of us have made it home, or close to it after a rather hectic weekend, it’d be nice to sum up some thoughts on the whole deal.

As I stated to many I met this weekend, this was my first “real” tournament ever, not just a local one with the typical crowd around the SF Bay (I’ve never done the tourney at CAX before). I went in with the hopes of making B, and the mindset that I’d be content in C.

Qualifiers went about as well as I would’ve expected - the usual ups, downs, and stupid mistakes adding up along the way, and one screwjob by T2 not lighting up the target I was supposed to hit for a ball 1 triple jackpot (which I swear I’m not bitter about, really - I reported that ASAP to @bkerins and he told me the game would get pulled).

At the end of day one I felt confident for a good seed in B, so I left early and passed out; I’m pretty sure I just about lost it when I saw I’d been placed in A (by one win as it turns out)! As it turns out, I ended up missing the playoffs by a close-ish margin of 5 or 6 wins, but in the end, I am still not sure I can believe I played well enough to even get that close.

Maybe, just MAYBE this is enough to give me more confidence to start hitting up some of the west coast circuit events. Either way, it was one of the best things I’ve ever experienced since I started playing the game again, and a huge shoutout to all the PAPA folks for doing what they did this weekend.

That’s my story - what’s everyone else’s?

2 Likes

Hey, I was there for that T2 hose job. Tough break.