What should I buy?

I’m fairly new to competitive pinball ( 1 1/2 years) and getting better, but want something that will help take me to the next level. I thought I would throw this out there to get some thoughts on what I should get for my next machine (I plan on getting it over the summer). I know it’s ulitmately my decision, but just looking for some other thoughts. I currently have two machines, Earthshaker and Stars, and want to add something more challenging.

I’m of two minds on this: Classic DMD, or Modern Stern? Although, right now I’m currently leaning towards the Modern Stern route.

Here’s what I’m looking to get out of the new machine.

• Work on my drop catches
  • Improve shot accuracy
  • Good rule sets to keep me interested so I don’t get bored of it quickly

I’d like to keep the cost under 6k (USD) if possible.

I had been thinking of these as possibilities.

Modern Stern:

IM
TWD Pro
GOT Pro
ST Pro
SM

I’ve left MET off as I get to play it more than the above during league play so I don’t feel I need to own this.

Classic DMD:

TZ
TAF
TS

As far as themes go, the Modern Sterns really don’t do anything for me, whereas the themes of the Classic DMDs I much prefer, but I know themes aren’t the most important thing. TWD looks great and I always enjoyed playing it, but the theme might not be too family friendly (two small children), unless I can convince the wife otherwise :slight_smile: My kids both love zombies, so how bad could it be?

Any way, any thoughts/ideas would be appreciated.

Any of those DMD games should fit the bill. Some would be better than others, but IMO the degree to which that’s true is not as important as you picking a game that you really like and will enjoy playing over and over. (And over and over and over.)

My favorites from your list:
IM
TS
TWD Pro (but the Premium is worth the upgrade on this one)

ST is fun, but it still has a few bugs that are annoying enough that I sold mine and don’t miss it.