Tournament win/elim calculator

Hi everyone,

I’m Simon. Long time lurker, first time poster. I play in Melbourne Australia. I’m also a computer programmer and have just built a tool I wanted to share.

It helps you work out during a tournament who can win, who can get thru an elimination game, what happens if a particular player is probably going to win how does that effect your position, if a win is out of your control, what order to people have to finish etc.

Its at https://pinwin.ai. Feel free to give it a try. I’m open to feedback.

11 Likes

Similar to Hello, world! but more detailed. Cudos! Thanks for doing this!

1 Like

Oh, thanks for sharing that. I didn’t know about it. I’ve reached out the author for a chat.

This is so much better than Can I Win, which I just hacked together in a weekend before I went off to a tournament and has at least two known bugs I never fixed. Please continue and best of luck with your project!

6 Likes

Thanks GDD the message. My early versions looked quite similar to yours actually. But certainly didn’t take a weekend - a lot more! So well done.

Some quick work by @shimmie and Match Play now links to PinWin.ai for eligible matches (tournament must be group elim. bracket, group must be in their last game) and prefills player names and point values so you don’t have to do any data entry:

11 Likes

That was fast! Love it.

1 Like

Oh lovely work @haugstrup! That will be a huge time saver for players in the panic of the final moments of an elimination game. Hope everyone gets value from it!

Nice work, @shimmie. I guess this is as good a time as any to post my own calculator that I’ve written a while ago, and which is quite similar to yours. Not gonna hijack your thread, though, I’ll post separately.

1 Like