Background: One ball playoff on TA. Ball is launched and manages to drain to the right outlane which is lit for 5000. Score is 5000, nothing else was hit. Ball served back into shooter lane with Ball 1 still lit. TD rules ball is over. Player argues he is still on Ball 1 similar to a playfield not being validated. TD says no, ball is over.
After all is said and done, we could replicate that scenario every time by hand. Score a 5000 only, drain and ball count remains the same. Any other score hit, ball count advances. Only happened with thousands.
It was a fluke drain, there was really no way we could actually do it again.
We later talked to a very experienced EM tech and he said that is the way the game behaves. It is not a game malfunction.
So, that being said, here are the questions:
Tech: What other EMs behave like this?
Tourney: Assuming the above scenario is proper game behavior, when is the ball considered over in a case like this?