SCS Prep

Good luck to everyone competing in the upcoming SCS! This is my first time qualifying. Just wanted to kick off a discussion on how everyone is prepping for the big day. Do you prepare for SCS day any differently than other tournaments?

Insert Rocky training montage here

Main thing I do is get there with enough time to play one game or at least a couple balls on each game. Test the tilt, see how the ball is bouncing etc.

Then have fun! My favorite event of the year.

3 Likes

If your State Rep isn’t giving you 30 seconds of practice before each game, yell at them because they should be :slight_smile:

6 Likes

I believe we are getting an hour before the event to practice. Games are on route at a bar so we’d have to coin drop for the 30 seconds :frowning:

I’m just hoping to see a games list fairly soon as I’ve never been to the venue and I think some local players may be bringing in some games as well.

As for practice, I just keep my same routine. Don’t go oveboard as that can actually hurt more than help. If you know the games ahead of time try to play like era games at min. I.E. if it’s mainly modern games don’t practice ahead of time on just SS and EM’s or visa versa. Overall just have fun.

1 Like

Most of us just forget this is an option and just get straight to battling. But good reminder.

1 Like

Wake up early, have coffee, go out for breakfast, triple check you didn’t draw Cryss again (first time in 3 years).

Pinball practice is irrelevant; either I’m gonna have it or not.

5 Likes

No additional prep needed, this is why you played pinball for all of 2018 :grinning:

1 Like

https://pinside.com/pinball/map/where-to-play/8710-einsteins-pub-katy-tx

1 Like

Also, this: http://pinballmap.com/houston?utf8=✓&region=houston&by_location_id=6492

Funny you say this. Here is my training video from 2 years ago when I was playing my buddy Rodney in the first round.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwQRLPgtTsYdak9GcUR6bVNTc1k/view?usp=sharing

5 Likes