Ruling: Scoleri bros. Malfunction

Player 2, Ball 1 on Ghostbusters

Player 2 called me over for a ruling during his ball stating that the right Scoleri Target was not working, I am not a rules expert on this machine but evidently that situation puts you completely in jail until you can flail about long enough for the mode to time out. You can not merely trap up as the timer pauses with inactivity.
As I was brainstorming options I mentioned potentially disabling the right drop target at which point player 1 informed me that they had played under the same circumstance and should be allowed the same compensation.
Ultimately I ruled that player 2 must play on but I did disable the R Scoleri target after ball 1. I was not quite sure about forcing player 1 to play the game in a bricked state. I did not find guidance from the rule book.

2 general questions to the group here:
“Should a malfunction ever be corrected mid-ball?”
“Should an oblivious (or perhaps aware but chose not to notify the TD) player receive a retroactive ‘benefit of the doubt’ compensation?”

In my situation if the answer to the first question is “no”, the second question is irrelevant.

2 Likes

#2 Absolutely no retroactive compensation ball. That’s not a thing. If something malfunctions to the point that they expect compensation, the player needs to bring it up during their ball.

#1 Personally I would consider a non-registering Scoleri brother to be a minor malfunction - play on.

However I believe that you might be able to disable them via software mid-ball. Can anyone confirm? (So yes, you can absolutely correct something mid ball. I understand the urge to not correct it since the other player had to deal with it, but the other player didn’t notify you, so they gave up their opportunity to have it corrected).

6 Likes

Hey Ryan. “Play on” or correct the issue mid game?