Ruling question: What do you do when a game kicks out two balls?

I dont seem to be able to start a thread here so I’ll piggyback on this one, sorry if I’m stepping on anyone’s toes.

I’m a relative noob with a rules question. A game has been firing two balls out of the trough with regularity, about 30% of the time. The TD determines that since the flippers don’t go dead after the first of the two balls drains, we should just play it and if you get two balls to start, let one drain. It turns out that when that first ball drains, the flippers go dead and you lose the other ball too. What;s the appropriate ruling?

1. Award compensation balls to anyone who lost their ball this way, to the disdadvantage of anyonne who didn’t
  2. Start the game over on a different machine
    3… Other, explain

I moved this to a new topic for ya. Here’s how I handle it: If a machine kicks out two balls, the player should trap up and let one drain. If the game kicks out a new ball due to ball save, let that one drain as well. If at that point the flippers die, the player impacted gets a compensation ball at the end of the game should they need it.

If the issue is happening consistently and the TD has enough other games to allow for pulling the game, after the game in progress is completed, they should pull the game until the trough switch issue can be fixed. If it happens only occasionally, or if the TD can’t pull the machine, it’s a pretty easy and consistent ruling to make when it happens, and you can even brief the players in advance to let them know what to expect.

3 Likes

In case of a compensation ball, if it’s a modern game and you have the keys, you can switch it to 4 balls mid-game so the impacted players don’t lose their progress and play a real 4th ball. I know it works on Sterns, never seen it done on WMS tho.

That doesn’t work on Wms games. There’s a list somewhere of the games where it works (Stern starting around Iron Man, a few other games).

1 Like