Because I enjoy talking about ruling (maybe I should have studied law), and the more examples we talk about the better for everyone.
Scenerio: 4 player game on Volley. P1 plays and puts up 65k. P2 ball 1, plunges and misses all the top rollovers. However, pop bumpers cause green target bank to become lit for 5Ks. P2 attempts to cradle up and get a ruling, but cannot and eventually drains ball 1 at around 7K with 1 green target bank hit.
TD identified it as a beneficial malfunction, but was not sure what to do. They went to talk it over with one of the other people making ruling. Their answer was “hey, I think that happened to me.” TD ruled “Its been doing that.” Same for all players, play on.
How would you rule?
You may have guessed, I was P2 and one of the TDs, but couldn’t rule here. It was not the ruling I would have made. I pulled the game from the tournament next round.
Related note, anyone know what can cause the hold relay to trigger that isn’t the lane switch gap? I thought it was going to be simple, but it wasn’t that switch. I need to pull a schematic up to help the owner narrow down other places to look.