League Ruling Question

Last night was week 2 of our Fall league I started 4 seasons ago, so I’m still learning as a director. I had a couple weird situations come up and I wanted to see how I should have handled it. It was a hell of a night. :grin:

We are a very casual league with 19 players on 4 machines (TZ, TWD, ACDC & Avatar).

I had a player show up early and say “I can’t play tonight because my wife got called to work and I have to watch our son”, but I have about 30 minutes, can I pre-play? I said, absolutely, here’s a preplay sheet, go to town.

He played his 4 games, turned in his sheet and left. My group started on TZ and towards the end of my 3rd ball, the power field diverter got stuck and wouldn’t drop the ball. It finally dropped during the 3rd ball search. I happened one other time and we pulled the glass and dropped it in the players shooter lane.

Fast forward to group 2. Towards the end of the groups 2nd ball, it was becoming more frequent. I pulled the glass 4 times before deciding that we would have them finish their game with the glass off and either myself or the other guy that helps would be the manual diverter so they could finish. Perhaps I should have killed the game there, but I thought it would be an easy way to get them through. We have 5 groups and only 4 machines so I don’t want people standing around too long.

Anyway, we killed the game at the end of group 2 and I decided to have the other 3 groups double up on a game so everyone would have played 4. Here is the issue though, the group with the guy that preplayed hadn’t played TZ yet, so how should I have handled his score? The rest of his group was going to have to play one game twice, but he only played each game once.

I also had a group that decided to start their game before the previous group had written down their scores. It was a crazy night.