Finals formats and "driving the bus"

One of the players in my league came to me with a question (probably closer to an opinion tbh) regarding the finals format which rewards the top seeds with choice of game or position throughout the finals. We do what is commonly referred to as a PAPA finals format (in our case 2 rounds of 3 games with 4,2,1,0 scoring). Basically, he doesn’t like it and I told him to suck it up, I have no intention of changing things.

It’s got me wondering though, when, where and why did this format originate? I have been participating in tournaments for about 8 years now. My first real event was PAPA 15 and this was also the first time I played this finals format. Any of the folks that have been doing this for 20-30 years remember when this format started becoming the standard?

Keeping people already safely set for finals interested in keeping playing for a better seed, and priviledges, may be perfered for one reason or another. Maybe for the fight within the fight. Maybe to boost the intake. Maybe because it is seen as fair for the best man wins.

If you do not like it, do something else.

Personally, I like to let all finalists pick a game each. With no repicks same player in later rounds.

4 Likes

I like it because it helps smooth the already volatile nature of finals play… after playing all weekend you only get 3 or 4 games to show your stuff. It should be your best stuff. Qualify higher!

1 Like

I believe this format was first used at Pinburgh 2000, the tournament that eventually became PAPA 7 in 2004. (Thus the name “PAPA finals format”.)

The prior PAPA tournaments, at least PAPA 2-6, used a fixed bank of games for finals, and players had to play them all; the addition of more machines led to the game choice rule.

1 Like

But what caused the change to allow top seed to pick ALL games?