Best tourney format for absolute beginners

My business partner and I have set up a pinball arcade at work, 15 machines including mid 70s EM, SS, 90s and modern DMD. I’m going to run a tournament for our 10 staff and I am wondering what is the best format for pinball beginners to 1. Enjoy themselves & 2. Get hooked on pinball?

My thoughts so far are

• pingolf will introduce them to the concept of rules eg start a multiball, complete a mode, but most beginners probably don’t have the skills to achieve any objectives
  • head to head format (eg 3 strikes or round robin) will appeal to the competitive types
  • pick 2 or 3 machines and have a highest score tournament on these. Focusing on just a few machines will help them with the rules and feeling like they have mastery

I always hear newbies saying they like 4 player group three strike tournaments. The more 4 player groups the better really.

The only complaints I’ve gotten from the newbies in my area were when I did head to head round robin tournaments a couple months in a row.

2 Likes

Is there such thing as a format where people play one at a time instead of a 4 player game? Just picturing a lot of random balls being plunged.

Try a team format, i.e. total score for players 1+3 vs. 2+4, and rotate both partners and groups each game. People get a point for each winning team they’re on. That way there’s a bit less focus on how well an individual does and more on doing well in general. Nobody’s knocked out at any stage [good], people play in groups [more social, good], and “teamwork” is rewarded [good given the nature of the group?]. Also, let players coach each other - - for this format and beginner level, I’d explicitly allow coaching during play, which will let them learn faster than they might if they’re being more individually competitive.

9 Likes