What finger/fingers do you flip with?

Some WWOP #4 discussion that Nate, Bowden and I just had . . . figured it was worth posting for a ‘lighter’ topic of discussion (you’re welcome Dunlap) :wink:

Both!

I switched from using just my middle finger to using both middle and index around February

Index fingers only unless I’m trying tap passes or slap saves. Then that’s a bit of my first three fingers.

When I first started playing I naturally played with both index and middle on both hands. Once I started playing competitively I switched to middle fingers only because I figured there was less room for error with one finger instead of two. More recently I’ve adopted a hybrid with middle finger on the left and middle and index on the right. I have no idea why but it feels right I guess. My accuracy is about the same on either side so I don’t really worry about it.

Edit: And yeah for taps its 3 fingers.

1 Like

Middle and ring together on a normal flip. Stage with ring finger and press down with middle.

No beneficial logic to it that I can think of…just how I play. I can quickly stage if I need to and I guess that’s a benefit :slight_smile:

Middle finger easier to stage because it’s closer to the base of your finger which requires less motor skill to keep consistent pressure. I tend to cup my hand for staging.

2 Likes

Thumbs.

4 Likes

I tend to use index finger on the left and middle finger on the right. No idea why, that’s just how it is if I pay attention.

I’m pretty sure REG uses his index, middle, AND ring on both flippers. He definitely uses more than two from what I’ve seen.

Left hand I use my index finger with the middle finger assisting in the stage flip. Right hand I use my middle finger with the ring finger assisting in the stage flip. Long story short I injured my right index finger around a decade ago and assume it has something to do with the compensation I learned while it was healing.