We had a ruling in a tournament, and I’m curious if it was correct. It did not affect the outcome of the game, so this is really just academic. Nonetheless, here is the scenario:
Dr. Who. I think it was ball 3, player 2. He had 390M. One shot left to MB. Center drained. Pushed the machine in frustration, walked away. The machine then started MB. The other players alerted him that something was happening. He ran back to the game, picked up his MB, and went on to 600M or so. We figure he tripped a switch with his shove at the end. Should he have continued to play out the MB? Should there be an adjustment, or a ruling of any kind? I find the section on “Beneficial malfunctions” to be a bit confusing.
Ultimately, it was decided to let it stand with no adjustment or ruling. Was that the correct decision?