Getting Better at Pinball: Learned vs Innate Skill

I’m kinda new to pinball, only a year competitively. I’ve been wondering as I experience ups and downs: how much does innate ability contribute to someone’s success? Have some of the best players always had unreal reaction time that they can use to great effect in pinball? Is accuracy a skill that can be learned? I recall @bkerins once said he has always had great accuracy.

Whatchyall think?

2 Likes

I think there are innate skills that can help with pinball, focus and concentration being two of the most important. However, I don’t think either is a replacement for raw practice, and I think that people without those skills can learn. I’ve been playing more in the last two years than I ever did before, and its not coincidence that I am better than I ever have been too.

Personally, I think accuracy has more to do with concentration than anything. The ability to pay attention to where the ball is on the flipper, and flip at just the right time, every time without fail. I don’t know how people do that, it is crazy to me because my brain is always all over the place. However I’m also really good at saving, which is kind of what you have to do when your accuracy is for shit.

Ill also say that one of the greatest pinball skills, hell life skills, is confidence and kind of removing yourself from the match you’re playing. I read a thing once about people who were excellent in their chosen competitive field, and one of the key points they found was that people who are excellent don’t really care if they win or lose. If there are no stakes, then there are no nerves, and you play loose and focused. If you are confident you will win, then you play a solid aggressive game. I tend to play scared a lot, go for easy points rather than big scores, and I think it hurts me. It’s hard, I put a lot of pressure on myself in every match, and I’ve never found a 100% way to get out of my head in that way.