This may have been answered before, but I came up empty in my searches.
During Pinburgh (any many other tournaments), it happens time and time again that a player walks away after a drain, not knowing that a ball saver is still running or that the game will eject a held ball. Typically, the other competitors do the sportsman-like thing and shout “ball save.” It’s happened to me on more than one occasion, and I was grateful that people pulled me up (to their own potential disadvantage!)
But, looking at the rules, I find this:
Because the tournament divisions consist solely of singles play, coaching of any player during a game, in any round, is not allowed.
I’m uncertain here in two ways:
“Because the tournament divisions consist solely of singles play…” Which tournament divisions are being referred to here, and why would they consist only of singles play? That part of the sentence seems out of context?
Second, why would someone shouting “ball save” not considered to be coaching? The ball is technically still in play (e.g. bonus count-down has not started), and, to me, telling a player “you still have the ball” is coaching as much as telling him/her to “shoot the right orbit within the next 30 seconds.”
Please don’t get me wrong here. I totally agree that telling someone that a ball save is running is in the spirit of the game. But I can’t find anything in the rules to allow this, and the only words I can find seem to forbid it.
Am I missing some other section in the rules?