Yes. That is the long version. If I have taken control of the game and something goes wrong, try to trap, call over an official and ask them how to proceed.
If I have not taken control of the machine, I continue to not take control. I will stop and think if there is a strategic advantage to taking control (e.g. taking control after another player plunged my ball). But I want to do that consciously. Even in the case I take control I will likely try to craddle and call over an official.
To be fair, I never liked the wording on the interference rule. It has that declare intent phrase. If I don't verbally declare my intent, yet take position and flip once and drain, what happens?