I ran a pingolf tournament this past weekend. Versus previous events, one rule was added for the playoffs that I had never used:
Each player can choose each machine a maximum of once throughout the playoffs. In other words, if Player A has selected Machine X in round 1, Player A can no longer select Machine X in the rest of the playoffs.
Everyone in the playoffs understood this rule, and things went smoothly overall.
We needed a tiebreaker to determine who moved on after one of the playoff rounds. The player(s) in the tiebreaker naturally wanted to know if picking the machine would count and not allow them to pick that machine for the remainder of the playoffs. Based on how the rule is written for this event, I told them that it did in fact count.
One of the players didn’t like this answer, and I can certainly understand why. The nature of pingolf playoff tiebreakers means that it’s possible that multiple tiebreaking games would be needed, which could put the player(s) who win the tiebreaker at a machine-picking disadvantage.
If anyone’s dealt with this issue, I’d like to hear how you handled it. Even if it’s not a pingolf event, it’d be useful to see how it works elsewhere.
(More likely) If you haven’t dealt with this issue exactly, I’d still like to hear your opinion on whether the tiebreaker machine selection should count re: this rule.